Our Areas of Practice
Getting a speeding ticket in Miami is never fun, but fight the speeding ticket does not have to be difficult and expensive.
- Traffic Tickets
- Traffic Offenses
- Criminal Traffic Violations
- Suspended License/DWLS
- Habitual Traffic Offenders
- Failure to Appear for a Court Date
- Commercial License
- What’s the Status of Your Traffic Ticket
Request A Free Consultation
Florida Hit And Run Accident Defense Lawyer
Under Florida law, it is a crime to leave the scene of accident that results in death, serious injury, or property damage. If you are accused of fleeing the scene of a traffic crash, you will need experienced representation to avoid jail time and to retain your driving privileges.
The criminal defense lawyers of Ferrer Shane, PL, routinely handle criminal traffic offenses in Miami-Dade County and throughout the State of Florida. In a free initial consultation, we will examine the facts of your case and advise you of your options for fighting the charges or negotiating a favorable plea. Contact our Miami law office today.
Leaving the Scene of a Fatal or Bodily Injury Accident
Under Florida statute 316.027, you are required to stop, remain at the scene, and render aid in an accident that results in injury to any person — occupants of the other car, a passenger in your vehicle, or a pedestrian who was hit.
— A hit-and-run involving serious bodily injury is a third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison.
— If you were driving under the influence and left the scene of an injury accident, the mandatory minimum punishment is two years in prison.
— If the person died — at the scene or later — the crime is escalated to a first-degree felony, which carries a maximum sentence of 30 years in prison.
Leaving the Scene of a Property Damage Accident
If you caused damage to the other vehicle but no one was injured, you can still face second-degree misdemeanor charges for a hit-and-run, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or license suspension of up to six months.
Fighting for Your Freedom
Maybe you drove off because of alcohol or drugs in your system, a suspended license, or other legal trouble if you were connected to the crash. Perhaps you checked on the victim before driving away or perhaps you just panicked and fled. Or maybe you left the scene to go get help and now stand accused of running away.
Whatever the circumstances, our job is to make the charges go away, get charges reduced or force the state to prove its case. The prosecutor must establish that you were driving, that you knew or should have known you caused a crash with injuries, and that you failed to stop or render aid before leaving the scene. Our attorneys are skilled at identifying weaknesses in the prosecution’s case and squaring the facts with your version of events.
We will make every effort to avoid a conviction for leaving the scene or work out a favorable deal that limits your punishment. Call Ferrer Shane, PL, at 305-262-2728 or 888-609-5947, or e-mail us to arrange a free initial consultation.