In Florida, there are many reasons why you could get a suspended license or revocation. Driving is a privilege, not a right, so the state can suspend your license for reasons as varied as driving under the influence, for failing to pay child support and, if a minor, smoking.
Many suspensions are a result of failure to comply with a traffic summons, to make a court appearance on a traffic summons, or failing to pay a fine. To clear this suspension, you must pay a $60 fee and satisfy the summons. If you were suspended for an unpaid ticket, you will need to pay the ticket, and some counties allow online payment.
For the elderly, or any driver, poor vision can result in a license suspension. To regain your driving privileges you have to provide proof of an eye exam that meets the minimum standards.
Your license will be suspended if you have too many points accumulated. Many drivers get a points suspension without realizing they were at risk. You receive points against your license for most traffic violations, like speeding, failure to stop at a traffic signal, and passing a stopped school bus. Point revocations are based on:
- 12 points earned within 12 months results in a 30-day suspension.
- 18 points earned within 18 months results in a six-month suspension.
- 24 points earned within 36 months results in a one-year suspension.
What If I Don’t Have Insurance?
Your license, as well as your vehicle license plate and registration, can be suspended for up to three years or until you can provide proof of Florida insurance.
Behind on Your Child Support Payments?
This is another frequent cause of license suspensions. It carries an indefinite suspension of your driver’s license. To clear the suspension, you must present an affidavit from the child support agency, depository, or the clerk of the court. The affidavit must be dated within 30 days of the reinstatement to be honored. You don’t have to take the exam, but a Child Support suspension reinstatement fee is required.
The penalty in Florida for driving with a suspended license varies. If you didn’t know your license has been suspended, it is a non-criminal offense. If you know, it then becomes a criminal offense. The penalties depend on the reason for the suspension and the number of previous convictions.
If you have had your license suspended or revoked for any of these reasons (or others not listed) you should speak with an experienced attorney, who can examine your record and advise you on how you can obtain a hardship license, if available, or how to clear your suspension.
Write a comment: