Our Areas of Practice
When your freedom and your criminal record are at stake, you can’t afford to work with a lawyer who isn’t completely committed to your case.
- Criminal Defense
- 10 20 Life Crimes
- Animal Abuse Pet Owner Negligence
- Bond Hearings
- Criminal Charges
- Criminal Defense Firm Overview
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Offenses
- Federal Crimes
- Juvenile Crimes
- Mandatory Minimum Sentences
- Murders and Degrees of Homicide
- Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
- Seal and Expunge
- Sex Crimes
- Theft Crimes
- Violent Crimes
- Weapons Offenses
- White Collar Crimes
- Will I Go to Jail?
Request A Free Consultation
How Long Will I Be in Jail?
After being charged with a criminal offense, it is natural that your first worry is about jail or prison. At Ferrer Shane, PL, we meet with people every day who are facing time in local jail for a misdemeanor or state or federal prison for a felony charge.
It is important to remember that not every criminal charge will result in a jail or prison sentence. There are state and federal guidelines, but judges have broad powers to work with the prosecutor and defense attorneys to find a resolution that will not require incarceration. Such options include drug treatment programs, education and awareness programs, and probation. Upon successful completion, the charges are often dropped and no conviction appears on your record.
But no defense attorney can or should promise to keep you out of jail. For many types of offenses, Florida has minimum mandatory sentences that judges cannot override. For your information, we are including some of the minimum mandatory state sentence guidelines on this page. Circumstances for every case are different. Contact us to discuss the specifics of your charges.
Examples of Florida Mandatory Minimum Sentences for First-Time Offenders:
- Aggravated assault with a firearm (10-20-Life offense): Three years
- Armed burglary, including armed breaking and entering a car (10-20-Life offense): 10 years
- Felon in possession of a firearm: Three years
- Heroin, cocaine or oxycodone possession: Less than 14 grams, three years; more than 14 grams, 15 years; more than 28 grams, 25 years
- Possession, cultivation of marijuana with intent to distribute: Three years
Examples of Florida Mandatory Minimum Sentences for Repeat Offenders:
- Repeat murder or homicide: Life imprisonment
- Repeat first-degree felony: 30 years
- Repeat second-degree felony: 15 years
- Repeat first-degree misdemeanor: One year
- Repeat second-degree misdemeanor: 60 days
For many federal crimes, judges are also held to mandatory minimum sentences. For federal cases, the sentencing component of the case is largely separated from the criminal court proceedings. It is imperative that your attorney understands the federal court system and the procedures for preparing your defense case relative to the federal sentence guidelines.
We have the professional resources and experience to help you fight for the best possible outcome.
Ferrer Shane Attorneys Provide the Experienced Criminal Defense You Need
Get straight answers about Florida sentencing guidelines. Call us or contact our lawyers by e-mail today. From our offices in Miami, we represent clients throughout South Florida, the Florida Keys, and statewide.