Our Areas of Practice
Getting a speeding ticket in Miami is never fun, but fight the speeding ticket does not have to be difficult and expensive.
- Traffic Tickets
- Traffic Offenses
- Criminal Traffic Violations
- Suspended License/DWLS
- Habitual Traffic Offenders
- Failure to Appear for a Court Date
- Commercial License
- What’s the Status of Your Traffic Ticket
Request A Free Consultation
Driving With Expired Tags In Florida
Operating a motor vehicle with expired tags is a noncriminal infraction — unless you have let your vehicle registration lapse for 6 months or more. At that point, it becomes a criminal offense with serious penalties.
If you were pulled over and cited because your car or motorcycle tags have been expired for at least six months, the knowledgeable traffic offense lawyers of Ferrer Shane, PL, can capably represent you. We serve clients in Miami-Dade County and throughout the State of Florida and can explain your rights and options in a free initial consultation.
Registration Tags Expired for 6 Months
Florida Statute 320.07 makes it a minor infraction to drive with expired tags for 6 months or less. However, if you have not registered your vehicle for 6 months or more:
- A first offense is a noncriminal traffic infraction but requires you to appear in court. The judge can impose a fine of up to $500 and/or traffic school, and the offense will count 2 points against your Florida license.
- A second or subsequent offense is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine of $500, with no option for traffic school to keep it off of your record.
It is in your best interests to keep your registration up to date, because of the penalties listed above and because any subsequent offense carries even harsher penalties.
Call our Miami law firm at 305-262-2728 or 888-609-5947 to discuss your case in a free initial consultation.